Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Auckland Provincial District]


page break

Some of the men who have been most prominently connected with the history of the colony have to be mentioned also as sometime members for Auckland in the House of Representatives. In the front rank stands the name of Sir George Grey, who was twice Governor of New Zealand, last Superintendent of Auckland, and Premier of the colony from the 15th of October, 1877, to the 8th of October, 1879. Sir Frederick Whitaker, an ex-representative of the suburban electorate of Parnell, was twice Premier, and held office in several other Governments. Another of the former members for Auckland, who was twice Premier and also in various other Governments, was Sir Julius Vogel, the author of the public works scheme which had so marked an effect on colonisation in the country. Those eminent men have been dead for some time, but other ex-members who have held Ministerial offices are still alive; namely, Dr. Logan Campbell, who was in the first Stafford Ministry; the Hon. E. Mitchelson, Minister of Public Works in Sir Harry Atkinson's last Government, and for a time Acting-Premier; and the Hon. A. J. Cadman, sometime Minister of Railways, and the Hon. T. Thompson, sometime Minister of Justice and Defence, in Mr. Seddon's Government.