Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The New Zealand Railways Magazine, Volume 8, Issue 8 (December 1, 1933)


page 61


Those Popular Paragraphs.

The Paragraph Competition was by far the most popular that Trainland has had. It was also the easiest competition-but certainly not the easiest to judge. The editor had difficulty in placing the prize-winners because all the entries were either exceptionally neat, well written, amusing, or appealing.

It is a pity there is not sufficient space to print extracts from some of the paragraphs. One little lad wanted to travel to Wellington again, in the express, so that he could drink out of paper cups. Because he was tired of school, another boy longed to saddle-up a pack-horse and go in search of gold nuggets on the West Coast. A large percentage of Trainlanders wanted to explore Rotorua and see the Maori girls and boys diving for pennies and the wahines cooking their meals in the boiling pools and washing their brown babies in the steaming hot lake. Rotorua, Auckland and Queenstown were the favourite places which Trainlanders chose to visit.

Special mention must be made of the hosts of boys who entered. Boys generally form the minority where competitions are concerned. Another pleasing point was that the majority of seniors were girls and boys of the ages of sixteen, seventeen and eighteen. Because these young New Zealanders are almost grown-up we are especially glad to hear their opinions on various topics concerning their country.

To all those whose names are not on this page we want to tell the good news that there are other attractive competitions awaiting them after the New Year.

And now, the age-old greeting, Trainlanders-

“A Merry Christmas to you all,”

And may many of your hopes come true during this happy month.

Results of the Christmas Competition.

First prize awards in both Senior and Junior Sections:-First-class Return Railway Ticket to anywhere in New Zealand during the Summer holidays. These prizes include a free ticket for a parent or guardian accompanying each prizewinner.

First Prize (Senior).-Master E. Irving (17), Page Street, Stratford.

First Prize (Junior)-Miss June Blakely (11), 49 Cooper Street, Karori, Wellington.

The one hundred other prize-winners are:-Edward Breach, Cadman Rd., Dannevirke; Douglas and Rob McLean, Mina. North Canterbury; Ernest Maetzig, Cut-field St., Inglewood; John Crowther, Broadway, Managa-weka; Winnie Peck, 12 Fitzroy St., Feilding; Joan Black-well, 10 Audrey Rd., Milford, N.2 Auckland; Dora Halli-day, Carlton Hotel, Timaru; Mildred Gundy, 44 Marl-borough St., Riccarton, Christchurch; Alan Williams, Box 22, Otane, Hawke's Bay; John Wallace, 52 Kauri St., Miramar, Wellington; Gwendoline Flannery, Alexandra, Central Otago; Joan McMillan, Station House, Matangi, Waikato; Desma Collis, Broadway, Mangaweka; Maureen M. Finlay, 598 Railwav Cottage, Karoro, Greymouth; Geoffrey James Nee, 84 May's Rd., St. Albans, Christ-church; Thomas O'Connell, Gleniti, Timaru; R. F. Jensen, “Matapouri,” Taihape; Margaret Harvey, 14 Duart Ave., Mt. Albert, Auckland S.W.2; Muriel Leyland, King St., Taradale; Kathleen Lorna Main, 38 Ure St., Oamaru; Dorothy Smart, Railway House, Falsgrave St., Christ-church; Norman Carter, 70 Trafalgar St., Lower Hutt; Leslie R. Gilmore, P.O. Box 19. Pukekohe; Hugh Kimpton, Broadway, Marton, Horace Ham, 39 Townsend Rd., Miramar, Wellington E.4; Cliff Teague, 18 Mein St., Wellington, S.1; D. Metherell, 5 Gordon Ter., W.1 Herne Bay, Auckland; Donald Blakeley, 49 Cooper St., Karori; Miss Phyllis Hughes, c/o Mrs. Lee, 52 Wansbeck St., Oamaru; Kathleen O'Flaherty, Martin St., Upper Hutt; Betty Haynes, 24 Railway Settlement, Kaiwarra; A. G. Waters, 46 Station Ter., Remuera. Auckland, S.E.2; June Brewer, 515 Pepper St., Hastings; Lydia Dassler, Te Rau-a-moa, via Te Awamutu; Grace Staite, Lumsden; Helen Young, 18 Waterview Rd., Devonport, Auckland; Noel Orr, Brown St., Inglewood; Dick Bunker, Broadway, Mangaweka Richard Stent, Ohingaiti Bathia Luttrell, “Maroera,” Waimana, Bay of Plenty: Lesley Cockerell, 48 Chichester St., Radley, Christchurch; Jean McQueen, Barrett St., New Plymouth; D. Gray, 32, Camberwell Rd., Hawera; Jackson McLennan, 13 Albert Terrace, Greymouth; Betty Furby, 130 Cass St., Ashburton; Dorothy Barrell, Main Rd., Mangaweka; Roy A. Somerville, Waitepeka, via Balclutha. Otago; Esther and M. McGrail, Railway House, Victoria St., Hamilton; Patricia Findlay, Thorpe St., Morrinsville; Jean Johnstone, Mangateretere R.D., Hastings; Alice Maslin, Romahapa, South Otago; Colin Megson, 69 Clonbern Rd., Remuera, S.E.2 Auckland; Iris Evans, Allen St., Lower Hutt; Mavis Humphries, Opunake School; Frank Sullivan, Wellington Rd., Marton; Doris Weir, 71 Tauhinu Rd., Miramar, Wellington; Joan Collins, 9 Alten Rd., Auckland; T. Grace, Marist Bros. School Vermont St., Auckland; Lance Riddell, Spey St., Invercargill; Joan Faulkner, Box 4, Tuakau; Margaret Ryan, Richardson St., Woodville; John Johnson, Terrace Rd., Mangaweka: Christina Flannery, Alexandra, Central Otago; Jean Maslin, Romahapa, S. Otago; June Fisher, 9 Liverpool St., Miramar, Wellington; Queenie. Smith, 517 Main South Rd., Caversham, Dunedin; H. Penk, 29 O'Neill St., Ponsonby. Auckland; Kathleen, McDonald, 15 Cornhill St., North East Valley, Dunedin; Trevor and Lawrence Craw, Bann St., Bluff. The Tauraroa School (North Auckland) and Halcombe Schools were the two schools which sent in the best sets of entries, which were exceptionally good. The names of the prizewinners from Tauraroa are listed first: Keith Williams, R. G. McDonald, Eunice Scott, Gwen Purdon, Jim Johnston, Joe Russek, Cedric Macpherson, Ava Coe, Phyllis Milton, Gladys and Josie Graf, Elva M. M. Danks, Gwen, Jack and Joe Davies, Rex McKenzie, Fred and Horace Snell, Marie and Austin Browne, Kenroy and Dawne Williams; (Halcombe School): Walter Te Punga, Mabel Noffke, Nina Hammon, Moira Hutton, Enid Wishnowsky, Edna Fergusson.

In view of the number of entries received it has been decided that the following highly commended entrants will also receive prizes:—Joan Bevir;, Whangamomoana, Stratford Main Trunk Railway, Taranaki; Molly Saxelby. Chester St., Otautau, Southland; James and C. Whitmore, 9 Britannia St., Petone; Gwen Lewis, Waimarie, Paraparaumau; Eula E. Stevens, Post Office, Balfour; Molly O'Flaherty, Martin St., Upper Hutt; Ruth Maslin, Romahapa, S. Otago: Betty Burnell, 703 Pepper St., Hastings; Beatrice Nicholson. Te Kapau Rd., Mangaweka; Eunice Davies, Paraparaumu; Jovce Capon, Whangamomoana; Howard Moffitt, Maxwell; Ronald Steer, Railway House, Kakaramea; Raymond Richards, Main South Rd., Hornby.

page 62