Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Salient: Victoria University Students' Paper. Vol. 30, No. 3. 1967.

Rowing victory

Rowing victory

Victoria Won the rowing at Easter Tournament. A magnificent team effort ensured victory by ten clear points.

Auckland filled second place, with Lincoln a gallant third.

For the second year running Victoria won the eights. The race was over a two mile course at Korokoro, Petone.

The Victoria crew of R. Joyce, P. Macauley, P. Wear, J. Gibbons, R. Gilbert, R. Trott, J. Pope and B. Brown leaped to the front at the gun.

After only a dozen strokes they had a lead of half a length over the rest of the field. At the half mile, they pulled ahead to a two-and-a-half length lead.

Watched by several hundred people, the Victoria crew crossed the finishing line seven lengths ahead of Auckland, with Canterbury third.

The Novice fours race was won by Canterbury. At one point, Canterbury was battling it out with Otago for what would have been The best finish of the day, but the Otago stroke "caught a crab," allowing Canterbury to win by a length. Canterbury number two was third, with the in-experienced Victoria crew finishing well back in the field.

The invitation Women's Race was held over a shorter course, and it produced the best finish of the day, with Victoria number one first, Auckland second and Otago third. Although hopelessly outclassed, the newly-formed Victoria number two crew showed great sportsmanship by staying in the race to the finish.

The single sculls race was won by New Zealand Olympic representative oarsman John Gibbons. He took first place easily, eleven lengths ahead of Massey, with Canterbury third.

The college fours was won by Lincoln, despite having drawn an outside lane, and striking patches of rough water. The well co-ordinated crew won by three lengths from Victoria number one (a crew of freshers), with Canterbury third.

The race between the NZU eight and the rest was won by NZU.

The NZU team did not settle-down until near the end of the race, but won by more than two lengths from the rest of the field.

The NZU crew was Joyce. Macauley, Wear, Gibbons. Gilbert (Vic). R. Black (Cant) F. Fairelough (Auck) and D. Sharpe (Otago). The Rest crew was J. Powles (Otago), N. Reilly and R. MacGibbon (Cant) D. Jack and C. Ashby (Auck), C. Johnstone (Otago), R. Trott (Vie) and D. Muckay (Auck).

Rowing points were: Vic 24, Auck 14, Cant 10. Lincoln 8, Otago 5, Massey 2.

Moderate northerlies rippled the water, and rain fell during the races.