Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Salient. Victoria University of Wellington Students' Newspaper. Volume 31, Number 18. July 30, 1968

7 Elected unopposed

7 Elected unopposed

Seven of the 15 positions on next year's executive have been filled without election.

Voting for the other eight positions will take place on Tuesday and Wednesday next week.

The new Women's Vice-President of the Students' Association will be Candy McGrath, Education Officer on the present executive.

Also unopposed are Secretary Margaret Bryson, Treasurer David Tail, Public Relations Officer Graeme Sargent, Social Officer Angus Bradshaw, Sports Officer David Howman, and House Committee Chairman Simon Arnold.

Contestants are:

President: Devon Biggs, Dan Bradshaw, Gerard Curry, Andrew Eastort, Malcolm McSporran, John Mowbray, Paul Peretz.

Men's Vice-President: John Lenart, John Wild.

Accommodation Committee Officer: Alan Dentice, John Chairman, Alan Browne, Sharyn Cederman.

Cultural Affairs Officer: Alan Dentice, John Hales, Helen McGrath, Malcolm McSporran.

Hales, Helen McGrath, Malcolm McSporam.

Education Officer: Devon Biggs, Andrew Chapman, Roger Martin.

International Affairs Officer: John Barwick, Peter Beilby, John Eade, James Mitchell.

National Affairs Officer: Peter Cullen, John Doig, Wade Mansell.

Publications Officer: Graeme Collins, Jim Thomson.

Two candidates Devon Biggs and Malcolm McSporran, are each standing for two positions.

The constitution says a candidate may be nominated for two positions "but can only hold one position".

Election Committee chairman Mr Armour Mitchell said he didn't know what procedure would be followed if a person actually topped the poll in two contests.

An interesting feature is the candidature of two brothers and two sisters.

Candy McGrath and Gus Bradshaw have been elceted unopposed; Helen McGrath and Dan Bradshaw are seeking election.

Regardless of election results, the 1969 executive will be notable for its lack of members wilh previous exec. experience.

Two members of the present executive were unopposed; two others are candidates.

Of the eight standing for President, only Dan Bradshaw is a current exec, member; Paul Peretz was a member last year.