Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Spike or Victoria College Review 1938

Club Officers, 1938

page break

Club Officers, 1938.

Athletic Club—Club Captain, L. P. Black; Vice-Captain, R. Freeman; Secretary-Treasurer, J. S. Adams; Committee, F. Fortune, E. M. Irving, H. G. Bowyer, J. P. Eastwood.

Basketball Club—Club Captain, Nancy Bullen; Vice-captain, Erice Overton; Secretary, Pixie Higgin; Fresher Member, Enid Broad.

Biological Society—President, Miss J. Osborn; Secretary-Treasurer, Mr. E. Cardale; Committee, Miss P. Self, Messrs. D. Aldous and B. Fell.

Boxing Club—Captain, P. H. Ryan; Deputy Captain, E. Monroe; Secretary, P. J. Sheehan; Committee, K. Coveney, A. Armour, A. E. Arnott, E. Tocker.

Chemical Society—President, E. P. White; Secretary-Treasurer, W. G. Johnston; Committee, Miss E. Thompson, N. Jamieson, P. Ongley.

Cricket Club—Club Captain, F. Fortune; Secretary, J. B. Stevenson; Treasurer, T. A. Harpur; Committee, W. Tricklebank, D. D. Lunn, B. Campbell, R. Roberts.

Debating Society—Chairman, Miss M. Shortall; Vice-president, Mr. J. B. Aimers; Secretary, Mr. C. J. Treadwell; Treasurer, Mr. M. Hatherley; Committee, Misses N. McGhie, Justine Smith, Messrs. R C. E. Scott, A. L. McCulloch.

Dramatic Club—president, J. B. Aimers; Vice-president, Patrick Macaskill; Secretary, Miss K. Hayes; Treasurer, J. von Dadeleszen; Committee, Misses J. M. Cummins, C. O'Halloran, Messrs. G. B. C. Bliss, J. D. Freeman, R. L. Meek, H. Williamson.

Evangelical Union—President, Mr. E. A. Missen; Secretary, Miss Joan Bythell; Committee, D. F. Eyres, F. H. Walker, Miss S. Woodfield.

Glee Club—Vice-presidents, R. L. Hutchens, L. B. Sandford; Secretary, Marie Fletcher; Committee, Vesta Emmanuel, Berys Ball, B. Campbell M. Christie.

Football Club—Club Captain, A. P. O'Shea; Deputy Club Captain, E. Blacker;Captain First XV, R. B. Burke; Secretary, W. Tricklebank; Treasurer, S. G. Eade; Teams Officer, A. Gordon; Committee, R. Buddie, R. J. Corkill, R. Hansen, W. L. Parker.

Harrier Club— club Captain, D. R. Scrymgeour; Vice-captain, F. D. O'Flynn; Secretary- Treasurer, M. J. Hoffman; Publicity Officer, S. K. Newell; Committee, H. R. Burge, A. G. Bagnall.

Men'S Hockey Club—Club Captain, F. Newcombe; Secretary, F. H. Walker; Treasurer, A. Mcintosh; Committee, A. Dixon, D. Good, L. B. Sandford.

Women'S Hockey Club—Club Captain, Joan Bacon; Field Captain, Nancy Bayfield; Secretary, Florence Chivers; Treasurer, Susie Saunders; Committee, Betty Stubbs, Betty Rider.

Law Faculty Club—Chairman, R. S. C. Agar; Secretary, J. D. Gerard; Treasurer, W. L. Ellingham; Committee, F. D. Christensen, R. R. Raynor, R. C. E. Scott, L. Ward.

Mathematical and Physical Society-President, E. E. Suckling; Vice-presidents, Miss E. Winstone, Mr. A. Marks; Secretary, E. I. Robertson; Committee, Messrs. A. R. Anderson, V. Gallagher, R. Menendex.

Photographic Society—Chairman, G. A. Eiby; Secretary, S. A. Ombler; Committee, Miss M. Palmer-Brown, Messrs. E. Cardale, Clarke, P. G. Pasley.

Phoenix Club—President, Vesta Emmanuel;Secretary-Treasurer, Justine Smith; Committee, Elma Johnson, J. D. Freeman, P. C. R. Wells, N. Hull, P A. Cornfoot

Rifle Club— president, B. D. A. Greig; Vice-president, J. B. C. Taylor; Secretary, C. J. Gates; Treasurer, G. T. Ryan; Committee, H. T. G. Olive, T. R. C. Muir.

Rowing Club—Club Captain. R. P. Hansen; Vice-captain, A. K. Burge; Secretary, J. B. Bullock; Treasurer, G. C. Broad; Committee, K. G. Barnes, G. M. Hayton.

Student Christian Movement—President, Miss L. A. B. Dallard, Vice-president, Mr. C. A. Webster; Joint Secretaries, Miss E. H. Johnson and Mr. H. C. Arnold; Treasurer, Mr. H. G. Bowyer; Committee, Misses M. J. Boyes, J. M. Osborn, M. J. Smith, Mr. P. C. R. Wells.

Swimming Club—Club Captain, T. E. Ennis; Secretary, R. L. Meek; Committee, Misses S. and C. Hefford, Messrs. F. D. O'Flynn, I. Johnstone, P. H. Ryan, E. L. Tate.

Table Tennis Club—Chairman, E. G. Budge; Secretary, E. I. Robertson; Treasurer, JD. M. Hatherly; Committee, Marie Fletcher, Joan Bythell, L. Pitt, S. Braithwaite.

Tennis Club—Chairman, E. G. Budge; Secretary, L. B. Sandford; Treasurer, J. S. Smythe; Committee, Misses E. MacLean, K. Pears, S. S. Phillips, R. Singleton, Messrs. B. Brock, W. Mitchell, P. G. Pasley, F. Renouf.

Tramping Club—secretary, R. L. Meek;Chief Guide, A. P. Oliver; Committee, J. H. Croxton, W. Bradshaw, R. Chorlton, P. S. Powell, Misses P. Self, D. Hansman.

Weir House—President, R. J. Corkill; Secretary, C. J. Gates; Treasurer, F. J. Halpin; Committee, A. R. Gibson, W. L. Parker, H. T. P. Te Punga.

Women's Club—president, Miss G. M. Kean; Secretary Miss Kathleen Ross; Committee, Misses Primrose Self, Joy Osborn, Justine Smith